louielouie

By louielouie

The Cranes at Govan Shipbuilders

I had to pop over to the best cobblers in Glasgow today - Wards of Patrick - so I thought I'd go around the corner and get a daylight Blip of the cranes on the south bank of the Clyde whilst they're still there to enjoy!

The cranes are no longer used, the yard have alternative mobile ones now so it seems that these ones are under review/threat of removal. It'll change the riverscape forever if/when they go.

This is the last major group (there must be a collective noun?) of cranes on the Clyde so if you want a photo that conveys the shipbuilding heritage of Glasgow in your collection then you'd better get your skates on.

It was a beautiful but VERY cold day down by the river.

Tonight I'm off out with a few former work colleagues for my first Xmas night of 2013!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.