CameraHappy

By CameraHappy

A Catalogne (Blanket)

Almost 16 years ago we moved from Peace River to Edmonton. This was a huge move for us. We left the rural and somewhat isolated north country for the bright lights of the Big City. What we experienced living in Peace River was community with all it's local talent and culture. The small community of St Isadore was home to local weavers. These weavers have now become world-reknowned.

As a farewell gift, my colleagues gave me a blanket made by the St Isadore weavers. I treasure this catalogne, not only for it's artistry, but also for sentimental reasons. I remember fondly the compassionate group of community nurses and other health professionals I worked with.

This woven blanket is truly a keepsake. Check out how it is made - a unique creation using rags!

Though we have settled in nicely to urban living, there are moments when I miss the "small town" living with all it's community spirit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.