MaryannA

By MaryannA

Fifty Years Ago Today!

It started as a regular day in November. I was a freshman in high school. JFK was the first president I was connected to and listened to his campaign speeches and the debates and Everything that we were striving for in America, he was ready to do his job to make America do great things. On that dreadful day, when the loudspeaker came on and we were informed that the president had been shot. We had recently gotten televisions in the classrooms and they were tuned into all that was happening in Dallas. When we left school that day, there was still no word of his condition. On the way home, on a moving subway train, the announcement was made. President Kennedy was dead. Killed by an assassin's bullet and even though my train was speeding through the underground tunnels, time seemed to stand still. I was on the train with a neighbor who went to the same high school and we were stunned and amazed. I cried and everyone was in total disbelief. I find my self crying just to remember that day as well as the week to follow... of course it is all documented in film and documentaries. It shocked the people for a long time and is still one of the most impacting times in US history that I have lived through. How history changed on that sad and tragic day. Rest in Peace John Fitzgerald Kennedy ~ November 22, 1963.

My brother was a postal employee. When They rolled out the commemorative stamp in May of 1964, all employees received these first day of issue postmarked envelopes. We have kept them all these years.

Today is a somber, cold and rainy day... fits the mood, somehow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.