Mimsdaze

By Mimthing

Oxfam

#lovember 21 I have always loved bimbling around charity shops, they are veritable treasure chests. This outfit is totally second hand or as some like to day 'previously loved ' The purple shoes, red scarf and purple hat are all today's finds, the red coat was last week, jeans a few months ago and my Laura Ashley t-shirt and cardigan came to my wardrobe about three years ago. I think the whole lot stands me at around £20.00. My belt -hidden- has lived with me for 38yrs, it is made of pigskin with a massive brass buckle and was hanging in the dying room of the small leather business I worked at in Castle gate, York, it was as stiff as board, I had to work it with much leather soap to soften it so it could be worn. It was free. The thing I love most about charity shops is that you can't have a shopping list, you can't go thinking I need this or that, you can hope but usually it simply doesn't work that way. An open mind and a keen eye is all that is required and the treasures that lie behind those doors will show themselves, nay they will beckon, they will whisper to you as you run your fingers across the rails.... see me, touch me, buy me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.