I ain't gonna work on Maggie's farm no more*

Perfect weather: dry, sunny and warm. I spent all day doing outdoor chores.

Cleaned out the duck house, the chicken house and the hen run;
Cleaned out the feed bin;
Raked and swept the barn;
Got logs and coal in;
Washing on and off the line;
Dog exercised;
Corn and potatoes delivered;
Poultry feed delivered.

The birds were glad to get out after two days' confinement following a fox strike on Tuesday. Sadly, my fine black Welsummer hen, included in my 3-year blip recently, was the victim. I can't keep the birds enclosed indefinitely and I have to expect further raids. At least they have clean bedrooms to enjoy until then.

Meanwhile, Moritz made like a tiger at the waterhole (duckpond).

*Responding to a suggestion of LoJardinier's that I continue the Bob Dylan title theme.

The song.




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.