Is it safe to come out yet?

It was 50 years ago today that the first ever Dr Who TV programme was broadcast. I remember it well – it was the day after President Kennedy's assassination and it was my brother’s 15th birthday. 5.15 on a Saturday afternoon, the football results had just finished and we settled down to watch this new programme for kids. And that was it, I was hooked – I’ve been a big sci-fi fan ever since, lapping up things like Star Trek, Blake’s Seven, Quatermass, Stargate and Quantum Leap. I’ve watched every single Dr Who programme that has been broadcast and was devastated when the BBC cancelled it in 1989, but overjoyed and excited when they announced its return in 2005. Of all the Doctors David Tennant is undoubtedly my favourite and Rose Tyler (Billie Piper) has been my favourite assistant... can’t wait for tonight’s 50th Anniversary episode. So who’s your favourite Doctor? And which monsters had you hiding behind the sofa?

Music: Original Dr Who Theme

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.