Tom Zimmerman

By Zimmt54

Jack and the Garbage Truck.

This is an oil portrait I painted from a group of photos I took of my grandson, Jack. I only paint a little at a time, over many days.

My wife didn't like his hair, so I painted that part over several times. When I was finally done, I took the canvass in the basement to spray a clear coat of varnish over it. I was overtired at the time and did not pay attention. I was holding a can of white paint.

As I sprayed a light, even coat over the entire surface, I was thinking to myself, ... man this going on cloudy. Luckily, a can of turpentine was right in front of me. I poured it all over the surface, let it sit for 5-seconds and then wiped it off with a fresh towel. Good thing most of the oil was dry. I had to redo his hair one more time, but it was no big deal. Close call.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.