DDW

By DDW

View From My Window

Yesterday, I bought myself a new iPad. One of its features is a camera, so I thought I'd have fun experimenting with it for today's entry, showing the view from the dining room window of my apartment in Boston.

The Paramount Theatre was originally opened in 1932 as a cinema. At that time, it was state of the art, being one of the first movie houses in the city to play "talkies". It was closed in 1976, and most of its magnificent Art Deco interior was later destroyed during the removal of asbestos. In 2002, the developers of the Ritz-Carlton Towers project agreed to restore the Paramount's facade, marquee, and vertical sign in exchange for city approval of their project. Today, the Paramount is owned by Emerson College, and its a vital performing arts location in this part of the city.

I love seeing it out the window, especially at night, when it's lights are bright and twinkling.

NOTE: I've changed from the original daylight image to one taken at night, to show the reflections in our neighbour's windows.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.