WorldLens

By worldlens

Thanksgiving Treats

For our team's Thanksgiving dinner tonight, I made my family's potato rolls and apple pie. It's great to to have friends, who feel like family, here to celebrate with. I don't feel like I'm missing out on the holidays hardly at all. And it's fun to try everyone's favorite Thanksgiving recipes.

This was my first time making my family's famous potato rolls alone. Usually Mom makes them every year, but it was up to me if I wanted them to be a part of the meal.

They came out better than I could have expected. I think the yeast really likes Thailand's heat, humidity, and low elevation. I knew I didn't have a mixing bowl big enough for the dough to rise, so I put it on a cutting board on the counter and covered it with a towel.

I left it to rise while I made the apple pie. When I came back to the dough, it had doubled in size (if not tripled) and completely engulfed the cutting board. From there, I formed the dough into small rolls, let them rise one more time and baked them. Yummy yummy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.