Charter Oak in Russet Glory

LeeAnn's Colour Challenge - Day 23 - Russet

I've got a new toy for the camera - a 10stop ND filter (aka Big Stopper if it was a Lee Filter!). I was hoping for some time to try it out today, but by the time Mum and I had indulged in some retail therapy, including her buying herself a Kindle Paperwhite as an early Christmas present, it was 3o'clock. Never the less, we headed over to Danson Park where I tried some shots of the setting sun. I soon discovered that I need to learn how to use my remote trigger properly, and 90s exposures take a long time when you are standing waiting in the cold!

Still, I was quite pleased with this shot of the Bexley Charter Oak, one of the great trees of London. In keeping with today's colour theme, the oak was clothed in russet coloured leaves which the setting sun and a little HDR treatment has enhanced.

THE BEXLEY CHARTER OAK Quercus robur

Standing proudly on its own within the historic landscape of Danson Park, this Oak has a full and well-balanced crown. The tree is over 200 years old and is near to the recently restored Danson House.
It is an important landmark which appears on the borough coat of arms. The borough charter was signed underneath it in 1937 which changed Bexley from an Urban District Council to a Municipal Borough.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.