A Grand Opening

My Sprekelia formosissima opened this morning. It is the first time it has flowered. Later in the day the magenta anthers burst out in bright yellow pollen. Common names for this flower are Aztec lily or Jacobean lily, but it is not a lily. Instead it is a member of the Amaryllis family.

The bush in the background is part of the territory of the waxeye couple. While I was kneeling on the ground to take this photo the male was in there singing his sweet, soft, canary-like song. There was less than 2m between us and I had the idea of recording him on my phone, but just as I pressed the record button the chaffinch started up, drowning all other sounds.

I'm sorry I can't do comments at present. There has been no letup in the headache and now a new medication is making me feel wretched.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.