Jake's Journal

By jakethreadgould

A ghostly portrait.

In Large. - taken on Canon AE-1 today.

T'other day, for the first time in several years, I had the smallest flicker of a desire to go vegetarian (read pescetarian).

I was stood in the kitchen slapping some mayonnaise on a slice of bread in preparation for the bacon which was hissing and spitting under the grill behind me when a huge truck trundled past on the road. It was packed full of pigs, off for the chop.

And I have been a vegetarian in the past- for about two years when I was young. I imagined being a pig in that lorry, succulent cheek by jowl with your pals hoping that this is, indeed, a group trip to Codona's amusement park.

Another reason is that I could be one of the first vegetarian butchers. I would no longer have to expose my ignorance when someone asked me how to cook a brisket or a topside:

look, pal, I'm a vegetarian alright. The fact that you're buying the meat in the first place is offensive to me. Saying that, I would appreciate it if you still bought it, because, you know, money's money and brisket costs a fair bit.

In fact I put The Smiths on my iPod at work the other day and when Meat is Murder came on I took a moment to admire my mastery of irony.

But, perhaps I'll start as of next week. There's half a packet of bacon in the fridge still and I think it's be even more offensive for the pigs whose lives have been taken away for their flesh to be cast into the bin.

Christmas might be tricky, too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.