What does she see?

Mara and I ended up at Kasha-Katuwe Tent Rocks National Monument today for a short hike. She was cranky, asleep in the car, and I just kept driving on beyond Albuquerque to keep her asleep. It is an interesting place and quite a favorite with local photographers.

Mara was interested in hiking at a full speed toddler run, occasionally stopping to point at things that are interesting to her. I wish I knew what they are. It is far more interesting to try to figure out than photography. A couple of times it seemed to be the view in the distance, a couple of others, a jackrabbit, and once a squirrel, but mostly I was mystified, even when I got down on my hands and knees and looked at her level. She would grin at me but that was it as her vocabulary right now seems to consist of up, down, puppy, and bye (at least the part I understand).

Today, I am grateful for the day I was given, Captain Cat who is today's typing assistant, spontaneous trips, time with the baby and Patti, the Wednesday clay store instructor.

Kasha Katuwe Tent Rocks

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.