rjkerrison

By rjkerrison

1100D's First Day

The terrible influence of Tom Sorensen effected an Amazon spree in the early hours of Thursday. Within 36 hours, my Canon 1100D arrived and I started snapping everything. This photograph depicts Leamington Spa's Bath Street at half past five on a Monday evening. Were it not for the sewage works that are causing the closure at the junction in the distance, it would be plagued by traffic at this time. As it happens, the town looks kind of peaceful and I'd have hazarded a guess at the time being much later if I'd seen the photo first time.

I'm quite happy with the photo. All the people are walking away, with the pair nearest to the camera in focus. The railway bridge at the crossroads in the distance came out clear and I'm actually enjoying the flare from the light on the side of Waterloo House. The amount of reflection is also lovely: that puddle especially is perfectly poised. I'm not sure whether I'd have preferred to get this shot from the middle of the road, and have the paths converge in the centre, but I did want the near pavement on the left third and the way it leads to the bridge gives the picture depth.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.