Kipper Cabin

By KipperCabin

Dad

My Dad is buried in the Commonwealth Veterans' Cemetery in Esquimalt. It's a lovely spot, despite being located in the middle of a golf course. You must keep an eye open for errant balls.

When we buried my Dad on June 7th, there were only seven plots available. My sister and I went up on his birthday. Every plot is now taken!! There's no more room. I said to my sister, "Dad's timing was always perfect".

Dad will have a headstone as soon as the RAF officially confirm his rank. You'd think that could be done via email, or at least an air letter. But no, five months on and he's still only got a stake. Dear oh dear.

My Dad was born on November 22nd and he and my Mum were married on September 11th. Imagine all your special days being overshadowed by American tragedies.

Edit: Dre Dee, my sister in law built this because our family is far flung. Dad

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.