Parked

A lovely warm Spring day - and I knew it was going to be a good one when I saw a dragon zooming around in the back garden.

Not a hope in Hades of actually photographing it, but it reminded me that if they are in my garden, there will be many many more at the creek.

And indeed there were - still all zooming around, fast and low. Along with the Monarchs, the Common Browns, the Painted Ladies, and a zillion hover flies, regular bush flies and all manner of birds twittering in the tree tops.

Finally, I found a dragon parked on a twig in the middle of the creek. And I had my 100 mm lens. Wrong lens! Oh no, not again! Heavy sigh.

So I clambered back up to the car, changed lenses to the 70-300 lens, clambered back down again. And bless his cotton socks, he was still there fast asleep. It's evidently hard work, doing all that zooming!

It's heavily cropped (middle of the creek, remember), but it's my first dragon of the season and I'm happy.

glittery wings

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.