Blue Hamish

By BlueHamish

Leaving Their Mark

DDW's November Challenge Day 25: "Patina"

I have a 50s gold filled Bulova wristwatch with patina on the case and dial and a brass pocket watch that that belonged to my grandfather and is probably in the region of 100 years old and has patina on the case but an almost perfect dial. Regardless, I chose to photograph the newel cap on our staircase. Why? Because the wear that you see has all been created by my family. The stairs were painted by me back in 1999/2000 so there's 13+ years of wear and tear on display here. They have all left their mark. Not sure I could ever bring myself to repaint it.

Lovely dinner at Rachel's last night. Ate too much (again) possibly drank too much as well but I will deny that :-)

Also spoke to Luke on Skype. First time for 3 months! Surprising news is that he is hoping to be home for Xmas. We had assumed the opposite given that it is almost December and we hadn't heard from him. Should have known better given that we are talking about 'last minute dot com' himself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.