AWGC

By AWGC

Taco Bamba

Edwin and I are big foodies. Over the course of our relationship, we have discovered gems littered across the District. A few thousands of OpenTable points later, we realized we needed to document our adventures. So we started a blog called DWGC or "Dining with Good Company" last December. Edwin was responsible for the research and photos, while I was responsible for the posts. Sadly, I dropped the ball on that and my planner is full of names we have visited--waiting to be reviewed. Soon, I promise.

This past weekend, we went to a taqueria by Chef Victor Albisu called Taco Bamba. We had only heard good things about it and that small joint was packed, despite being so tucked away. They are known for interesting taco toppings and combinations--like beef tongue, sweetbreads, and beef intestines. My roommate and I first went last Thursday. She was not feeling very adventurous, so she ordered a pork and pineapple and a beef-battered tilapia taco; she enjoyed it immensely. (They also have traditional ones there.) This time, Edwin and I got the pork belly taco, the pork and pineapple taco ('Al Pastor'), the fried beef, pork, and tongues taco ('El Beso'), and the sweetbreads taco. They were all very good (maybe a little on the heavy side), with 'Al Pastor' being our favorite.

So glad this place is close to my home. We can enjoy these tacos whenever!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.