Cailleach

By Cailleach

Binge seating......

Last night, I went to drool over George Clooney the cinema to see Gravity in 3D. I haven't been to the pictures for ages, and it was an incredible experience - one I shall never forget.

What is it about the cinema, that makes people want to eat twice their bodyweight in crap? Every second person was shovelling in huge fistfuls of sticky popcorn, from enormous containers which could have housed a family of five.....

Then there were the folk who were eating foot long hotdogs. They smelled like particularly well worn sandshoes (the hotdogs, not the audience) and it was apparently compulsory for them to be accompanied by dustbin sized cups of cola.....

Those who weren't slurping, munching or chomping, were rustling sweetie bags during the quiet bits....but the most bizarre thing, was the couple next to me. She was heavily pregnant, and kept squeezing past me to go the loo - but when she actually managed to remain seated for more than five minutes, her partner had his head on her tummy, cooing gently to the bump and stroking it like a cat. It was weirdly hypnotic - I could hardly keep my 3D glasses averted!

I haven't had such a fascinating night out for ages.....and oh yes, the film was pretty damned good too.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.