Edinburgh Chap's Photos

By GilesGuthrie

It'll never be this clean again

I’d been thinking of replacing the dishwasher for a while. It was quite inconsistent in its cleaning performance. But I hadn’t quite mentally committed to the replacement activity when the dishwasher made the decision for me, by expiring. By the time you’ve phoned an engineer, paid their labour and parts, it’s not that much cheaper than just buying a new unit. So that was the weekend’s task.

I suppose that we had a decent run out of the old one. It’s on at least twice a day most days. Something to do with my family’s inability to use a cup more than once, and my inability to cook with anything less than every pan I own.

Unfortunately, the internet has largely killed off bricks & mortar electrical stores, which is annoying when you need to try a product. In our case, making sure that the dinner plates fit in the bottom and the wine glasses fit in the top. Preferably simultaneously. Nevertheless, we found a Curry’s, with a new model in, available for delivery and installation next day. This included taking the old one and all the packaging away.

I'm the sort of person who tends to read documentation when I think that there’s something to learn. Unfortunately, the Hotpoint documentation was terrible. It makes repeated reference to features that my unit may or may not have. With a little asterisk next to the feature name, saying “depending on model.” But the model name is printed on the instruction booklet! Very unimpressed with this.

So anyway, now it’s in, and it’s time to start experimenting with how to make best use of the interior space.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.