Lovember: Passing on your skills...

Making food the old fashioned way...

The slow cookers wobbly knob was declared not fit to survive the house move so went off to cooker heaven. Which wasn't a problem back in May when salad tossing was at the forefront of my mind. However as the tempratures drop and talk turned to stews I started to miss the old guy!

I bought the ingredients but had forgotten to call into Ar'goose...to pick up new gadget...(on special apparently!) Never mind I'll do it the old fashioned way like Nana used to...and I did, not being wasteful with the gas, I cooked other things in the oven at the same time.

The house was filled with an aroma that could have floored a new husband at 20 paces, thought I was going to have a queue of them outside the door!

The dumplings were light n airy in the middle with a stodgy underside and crispy top just like me Mam used to make, the gravy was dark thick n rich and the meet was melt in the mouth gawjus....oh you've got to love a well cooked beef stew!

And that me little catering student is how yer do it ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.