Wine,Women & Song

By CelloNerd

Why do we make music?

My old Paquet mechanical metronome, sitting atop my piano. I've spent countless hours with these two, and they have been my constant companions since I began tinkering at the keyboard many, many years ago. It means the world to me to still have them here in my home.

After yesterday's Bayshore performance, Joan and I attended the group cello class that our teacher puts on periodically. The class, at this time, is comprised mainly of beginning cello players, young and old. (ok, mature)

Yesterday we worked again on It's a Beautiful World, then broke into smaller groups to practice a few Christmas tunes. It was refreshing to work with young, energetic students and I was reminded how far I've come since my earliest attempts at music making. Many were still grasping rhythm concepts, counting beats and learning to read and translate this from printed page into their body and down through their fingers.

Why do we do this? How did it start? I've yet to read a definitive explanation and that's probably because there isn't one. Music has always been present in nature, in bird song, in the repetitive calls made by certain animals.

In humans, there also is, most likely, a deep-seated sexual element to music, much like the mating songs of animals. Music is heady stuff that has the power to elicit intense emotions in all of us. In a sense, music is like a social glue that pulls us together. Different styles of music can engage us for different purposes. Witness military marching music, music played at sporting events, concerts, and ritualized drumming. Music has the ability to affect the mood and emotions of many, many people all at once.

Another thing: music probably shouldn't be over analyzed!

It's simply part of our humanity. It provides a means of expression where words fail. It inspires, it gives us hope, it lifts our worries, relieves our stress, helps us remember, and allows us to forget. It can send chills up your spine and put a blush in your cheek. Let's hope the music never stops.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.