Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

No more metal mouth

Apologies for the gratuitous teeth shots but this is a momentous occasion!

David's upper canines grew in the roof of his mouth (a "stupid place to grow your teeth" in the words of the orthodontist).

S0 2 years of orthodontistry followed - including surgery under general anaesthetic (the top left pic show the immediate aftermath), a needle that would have floored a horse inserted in to his gum by a charming but clueless junior doctor when things went pear shaped after the op, a mouth full of metal, a lot of soup and pasta, many, many begging phone calls to the orthodontist after the brace broke at the most awkward time and in the most inconvenient place and hours of sitting in a waiting room reading The National Geographic. David has coped very well - me, perhaps less so! But it was all totally free on the good old NHS.

Just the retainers to go now, but the metal is out.


My laptop crashed and died yesterday - I lost a whole morning's work, but I am being philosophical about it. Really I am. I reserved a new one via the website of a well known PC retailer - when I arrived to collect it I spotted a very similar model, same make, for £50 less. I asked the nice sales assistant what was the difference between that one and the one I had reserved. She took a moment and then told me very sincerely that "they have different model numbers".......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.