Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Traveller's Joy

...and what a pleasure to catch it in the light as the sun went down!

Clematis vitalba, Traveller's Joy or Old Man's Beard, is one of those plants that are stunning at this time of year. It is the UK's only native Clematis and is a member of the Ranunculaceae, better known as Buttercup family. As spectacular as it can be, it self seeds very readily and can strangle young trees with ease, so is on the list of invasive species. It's of no 'joy' when it's climbing habit is left unchecked, but still very pretty.

Talking of travels. My travels through life have been taking new paths of late. I've been taking on much more day work. Although much of that has been photographic, I'd begun to have the feeling that I'm too desk bound and wanted to find something constructive to do. I can't remember how I found out about meetup.com but, cut a story short, when I couldn't find a photographic group locally that can give me all I want, I created one.

So what do I want? I'd like to meet new people, learn new skills and impart those I already have. I wanted to create a group that is good for the expert and the complete novice. No strings attached or massive fees, I'd like 'get together's' with people who love cameras from both sides... new challenges, inspiration and to find places I haven't seen.

I signed up last week, waited in worry that my payment as a group organiser had been pinched, but the site was authorised and went live this morning... I set up a complementary Facebook page in five minutes and linked it. Wow.... I can't believe the response! WeeDave, congratulations, is the first person from Blipfoto, or indeed that I know, to find and join my Meetup page, Perspective Photography.

I've set up a meet in Guildford for the 15th December. I don't expect many takers so close to Christmas but am ready to run the group in earnest, arranging some interesting things to do in the New Year. Even if your not local to me, it's free and I'd love to see you join the group.

I might even manage to entice another load of Blippers into the bargin!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.