... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Oxford: Film(ing) Set

More classic in large ("L")?

I took a photo amble around Oxford at lunch time: I had a gap between lectures and a practical (watching and recording courtship in fruit flies...), so wanted to get a good dose of fresh air before being shut in with the fruit flies all afternoon.

I arrived in the centre of town to find Catte Street overrun by film crew, vehicles, and extras... It turns out that they were filming a scene for "Endeavour" (a precursor to "Morse", apparently): there were people dressed in "period garb" (1950s or 1960s by the looks of them), there were old vehicles, and the lines on the road had been covered. I really wasn't sure what to blip: I loitered (unobtrusively: plenty of people were getting right in the way which seemed a bit silly) and took quite a few photographs (of extras, of the "takes" with the bus driving up to the bus stop, of the film crew...). What I really wanted was to take another in my "cycle-by" series with the bus in the background, but there were no picturesque cyclists, which was unfortunate (I wanted someone on an old bicycle and wearing dated clothes; that usually isn't too tricky here...).
In the end I've gone with extras and the bus. It was a rather magnificent bus.
I've put up a couple of alternatives:
Extra extra
Extra: inside joke?
The bus

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.