The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

The sleeping hills

The interlocking low wooded hills of limestone between Arnside Knott and Leighton Moss slumber like whales under a coloured sky that is lightening as the sun rises close to its most southerly point of the year. I was willing the ravens that were cronking unseen to appear in the viewfinder, but it was not to be today. This was worth being late for work, though I had to make up for it at the other end of the day.

More signs of the ageing process today, I was meant to be in an internal meeting at 2 pm, but I had somehow got it into my head that it was a 2.30 start. It was only when I recognised a voice in the meeting room on the floor immediately below me that I realised I was 20 minutes late. Still, it meant I had a bit more time for a walk with Gus at lunchtime.

Best viewed under the lens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.