Go For It, Son!

I took a personal day off work today to watch my son run in the biggest school race of the year. He was determined to win in the year three boys' 1,200 meters race after coming in second last year. Last night he told me his strategy; conserve his energy until the final lap, then take over everybody in the final lap. Well, his strategy almost worked but unfortunately the leader had built up an unassailable lead. My son did overtake several runners in the last lap - his final burst of speed was quite tremendous - and there was a close battle for second place. However, he finished in third place. My wife and I were proud of him, though. He did try very hard but he has a cold so his breathing is far from optimum. Perhaps this will finally convince him to BLOW his nose rather than sniff it down!

My son clearly has innate ability; Mum and Dad think it's time to hone that ability by training more regularly. If he does, he is sure to win next year, just like his sister did in three consecutive years. He won't be able to equal that now with only two more years left at school, but he can still be the first boy ever to win two years in a row.

"Go for it, son!"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.