Ingeborg

By Ingeborg

Pink nonyaware

Today's Colour Challenge colour is pink and as this is the last week of the challenge and so the last time for a shade of pink I thought I could Blip the only pink accessories I have, mementoes from my guiding days in the Peranakan Museum in Singapore. These are gifts and obviously these are miniature replicas, the real nonyaware porcelain is now very sought after and expensive. The Peranakans, a special group of the population in Singapore, Malaysia, Indonesia and Thailand, descendants of marriages between (mainly Southern) Chinese men and local women with a culture that is a mix of the different cultures loved pastel colours and rich decorations, and there was a certain preference for pink porcelain (one of the reasons is supposed to be the fact that in order to get this pink you need gold in the paint).

Every decoration has a symbolic value, the bird that you see on the teapot is a phoenix, which is the symbol of the Chinese empress and became a symbol for women. I've set them on one of my sarongs, batik cloth with more Peranakan pink decorations, very often flowers and butterflies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.