Scribbler

By scribbler

"Put a bird on it!"

Rick Bartow, “Dreams of Crow” (2013), Froelick Gallery (by permission)
Watercolor & acrylic, 14x11 in.

SOMETHING YOU WEAR is today's DDW challenge topic.


This gentleman isn't wearing anything but a bird.
I think I'd look good in that too.

Since the Portlandia comedy show made the motto "Put a bird on it!" famous, at least in Portland, birds can be decoration and even apparel.
That's my story and I'm stickin' to it.

About the artist:
Rick Bartow was born on the Oregon coast in 1946 and is a member of the Wiyot tribe of Northern California. Personal experiences and global myths, especially Native American transformation stories, are the heart of Mr. Bartow's art. Animals and self-portraits populate his iconography.

More of his work, including his fabulous current show - Portlanders, take note - can be seen at the Froelick Gallery through December 13. This show focuses on birds; I especially love his large pastel paintings. All of Rick Bartow's images are powerfully alive. I think of him as a shaman of chalk and paint.

-----------------

Apologies to people in places like Australia who may not be able to watch the "Put a bird on it!" episode from the link I've provided. You might find a workable link by Googling, but I can't test this because I'm in the fabulous American zone where all is permissible. ;-)

-----------------

Three days until NaNoWriMo ends.
Comments come back on November 30th.
Thanks for stickin' with me.
HAPPY THANKSGIVING, Y'ALL!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.