KariDi

By KariDi

Take a seat...

Or not. A proliferation of street furniture (which I'm sure wasn't there when I left for work this morning).

Interesting day - a couple of meetings compressed into a morning and a very interesting writing session in the afternoon - though I did have to step out for a breather at one point. The idea of 'belonging' tends to make me emotional (anything from crowds singing national anthems to stories about lands and loss - guaranteed to make me tear up) & I was way too emotional to read what I'd written in response to the challenge to complete multiple sentences starting with 'I am from'..... The next exercise was introduced by one of the course leaders talking about an Elspeth Murray poem written as a plea to make information provided to cancer patients accessible...at which point I thought it best to leave the room & spare colleagues any more of my tears! I did eventually return. Sometimes things creep up on you unexpectedly. (And I'm assuming the poem linked to is the one in question, it may not be!)

It was an inspiring session though, and I did refine the 'I am from....' exercise into a poem on the walk home.

And now I have a few days off to sit down & relax (but not on the street seats).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.