The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Signs Of Autumn #11

Here are the two lime trees seen in the previous blip, now with slightly fewer leaves, but this time viewed from Fluffy's garden, as I was minding her for a few days.

L.
28.11.2013

Blip #1105
Consecutive Blip #008
Day #1335

Alternative:
Copper Beech

Lens: Pentax 12-24mm

Autumn series
Gardens series

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
George Jones - You're Still On My Mind (1962)
I was playing this off an Uncut cover disc, Honky Tonk Heroes - The Music That Inspired Gram Parsons. I didn't know this version having first encountered the song on the Byrds' album Sweethearts Of The Rodeo, on which Gram sang lead. He went on to perform it with the Flying Burrito Brothers and when he went solo.
I was convinced it was a staple of Emmylou Harris' recorded oeuvre as I know it so well by her, but although she recorded it in 1974 for her first album, surprisingly the song remained unreleased and on the shelf until a live version turned up on her Portraits box set compilation in 1996. I had seen her perform it live with the Hot Band at least twice and the version I clearly remembered was a much played tape of her 1975 Radio One In Concert performance from the New Victoria Theatre in London.
George Jones' country hit version was actually a cover of a 1959 single by Jeff Daniels, who wrote it (as Luke McDaniel, his real name).

One year ago: Bradford-on-Avon

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.