HeyLittleBird

By Rebekah

Gold

Today was my long-overdue Gold Duke of Edinburgh Award presentation in St James Palace. Long-overdue because it was now over 3 years ago that I actually completed the award... Anyway, here I am, outside the palace, with the official certificate and badge.

Thanks to the pestering kind words of encouragement from my mum, she persuaded me to go and collect the award in person rather than just saying "meh, just send it in the post". Although mum was much more excited about today than I was, we did have a really good day and I'm so glad we did it. It was great to go inside the palace (and use the loos) and actually speak to Prince Philip. How swanky.

After all the formalities we made the most of a great pre-Christmas afternoon in London. Walking by the river, grabbing some food and mulled wine at the Christmas market by the Thames, walking up through Covent Garden to Leicester Square, Regent Street, Carnaby Street and Oxford Street seeing all the beautiful Christmas lights/trees/decorations along the way. London has really out-done itself this year.

Thanks for such a great day, mum. And thanks for all the encouragement that got me to the end of this DofE award!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.