Martyn

By Martyn

Radio Ga Ga

A bit of nostalgia with tonights blip.

Pretty much the one constant in my life since I left school has been radio. Through secondary school I developed a love of the medium; initially listening to the station I'm now lucky enough to work for, but later listening to the likes of James Whale and Ian Collins on talkSport. The latter was what's known as a Zoo Format show, something you really could buy into as a listening, a bloody good laugh and - I assume - largely unscripted.

Here's the odd thing - in my 5 1/2 years of broadcasting for a living, I never actually owned a DAB - despite the fact we constantly promoted it as the 'next big thing'

There wasn't any particular reason for this. They're not expensive (and never have been!) and depending on where you are, the signal is usually pretty good. Maybe it was just the thought of going home from work to effectively return to work.

Finally, with very little persuasion, I've gone digital. I don't like things to purely be functional, a bit of quirkiness is, soemtimes, a good thing.

Incidentally, I gave up broadcasting as a career job way of making money and having a bloody good laugh at the same time two years ago this week.

Hopefully, it won't be too long until I get a shot at providing the output for one of these again...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.