Global Attitude

By GlobalAttitude

Thanksgiving

I thought I'd finished crying before I left the house. But salt in my eyes made it difficult to drive. I pulled myself together and adjusted my attitude before I went into the office. Still a couple crocodile tears slipped out when my intern asked about our family traditions. Being at work today on my favorite holiday was especially difficult and I've not been this sad in a very long time. I'm just exhausted, so I suspect I was due for a mini-meltdown.

My sainted husband attempted to rescue the day by preparing a wonderful feast when we were all finally home by 8pm. He marinated and grilled an amazing turkey breast, cooked homemade maple sweet potatoes, Yukon gold mashed, and roasted carrots. He also finished my grocery shopping and bought fresh flowers for the tables. It was a lovely surprise.

After dinner I had several hours of helping the kids with homework. Youngest needed to chose a prayer to recite for religion class. Other son failed a math test that he needed to correct. Both daughters have major essay assignments due tomorrow and needed extensive editing or help working out how to support their arguments. They really missed learning and practicing essential writing skills during the years they spent in German schools :(

Now it's after midnight and Thanksgiving day is technically over here. My family in the US is probably indulging now in pumpkin, apple, and pecan pies.

We will host a belated Thanksgiving/Advent feast on Sunday. By tomorrow I'll be feeling fine again. And in about four weeks, I'll be able to sleep :)

Happy Thanksgiving

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.