Why Be Serious?

By BlackmailGnome

Entertainment....

Too many times in my life I have heard the term that video games are only for kids and spotty teenagers. Time and time again the media portrays the "evils" of the xboxes and playstations, ultra violent, profanity filled, realistic games. It is stated that all kids that play these games are going to become mass serial killers, sad lonely rejects or abuse people for the sheer hell of it. Media portrayal of these games makes parents panic when their children ask for the latest and greatest games console...

Yet, walk into any game shop in the town and witness these same panic stricken parents buying the latest 18 rated game for there 11 year old son, because he has been raving about it for the last six weeks.

Err, what is wrong with this picture?

I grew up with computer games and games consoles, from my humble BBC Micro back in the '80s to my three times fixed Xbox 360. Does that make me a sad case. I play Team Fortress 2, yet have never felt the need to try and steal a briefcase from a heavily defended fort while striking up the kills on the way! My kids play games as well, not just kiddie games either...

My kids see games as a form of entertainment, nothing more, nothing less. They enjoy different styles of games, but afterwards they play happy families with their dolls or draw pictures of gardens... the game fills some time but doesn't fill their lives.

Unlike some of their friends...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.