Sunbeams

By Saffi

Myra's boys

Going through old family photographs I found a grubby old black and white watercolour with its old wooden veneer mount still attached to it although the glue had dried and crumbled.  Didn't think that much about it until I looked up the name of the artist on Google.  Myra Luxmoore (1860-1918), a suffragette artist who held suffragette meetings in her studio in Bedford Gardens, Camden Hill.  A few of her paintings are known such as the "Woman's cause is Man's: they rise or sink together", a card published for the Conservative and Unionist Women's Franchise Association; and the one of Christ leading the blind man, some book illustrations and others.

Myra was the daughter of a railway locomotive engineer and was born in Paddington.  After living  in  Newport in south Wales, she moved to Newton Abbot, Devon, and was exhibiting as an Associate of  the Society of Women Artists.  It was here she must have met my grandmother as the later painting is of her two older sons, Jack and Joe.  Myra had moved to London by 1891 and began exhibiting at the Royal Academy until her death in 1918.

This scrap of paper was duly remounted and framed!

Satisfactory day at the hospital.  My yearly check-up for the hip replacement.  Time has flown by. I spent most of the afternoon in there waiting for an x-ray carried out by a friendly Pole and then upstairs to meet the consultant who went into great detail looking at the x ray and  the previous x rays.  I found that interesting and left with the query in my mind re bones having nerves!  I had never thought of that before and had to eek out the information from the web when I got home!  Next appointment in five years time!

A pair of shoes arrived by carrier which I had ordered a month ago.  Glad to have them as my others are on their last legs!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.