Letter Two - Thanksgiving

Well mom, it’s Thanksgiving… and your cooking, the smell of your house, and your smile will be heavily missed this year. Pop is sleeping and Lynn is sitting next to me as the family is minutes away from being gathered. Maddy baked all day yesterday, Sue has been up since early this morning preparing the turkey, and Ashley will be arriving shortly to contribute in her way to the meal. It feels good to have the grand-kids around, they’re growing up so quickly. Molly’s been having more and more stomach issues. We’ll have to be watching her a little closer.

I had the opportunity to participate in the church’s Preschool Thanksgiving Service yesterday. It was a lot of fun to be sharing with the young kids again. Sometimes I miss teaching but I know I made the right decision to move on this year.

I hope to have a father and son trip to Florida after the new year. That'll be a first. No one’s been there for the past two to three years and we need to get things together. Pop seems good, and ready to clean out your things. The girls have tearfully kept some of your possessions and hold them close to their hearts.

I know I’ve talked to you more over the past week or so. I suppose it was the on-coming of Thanksgiving. There’s so much of you in my thoughts and actions everyday. I don’t even realize it most of the time, but you are present in every breath I take.

I’m sure you’re enjoying your reunion with Joan. Keep Skip in your prayers, I’m sure you’re aware of his problems.

Love you Mom,
Gratefully,
Your Son

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.