ElectricFish

By ElectricFish

Super Bowl

I made a bowl for a friend recently.. She loved it.....but remarked that it was smaller than imagined so I though about that. The bowl she has is perfect.... Today's bowl is just an extension of my own stubbornness. The original bowl was a four inch bowl. This is a seven inch bowl.... The silversmith suggested copper as it it easier to work with.... I chose a heavier guilding metal, not to be obstinate and stubborn, but rather because I thought a big bowl should feel heavy and ponderous when you lifted it..... So I hammered away happily for the morning after first cutting a seven inch square, centre punching it and inscribing the guide lines to create the design... When my arm muscles burned and I could hammer no more I switched to smaller pieces I'm making, including an owl based wind chime and a pendant.... It was a happy morning and the coffee was woeful as ever though at times I wondered about the bowl. The silversmith himself had never attempted this size bowl himself and the tools were at the limit of the usage... I did, however, get to us a specially commissioned planishing hammer newly arrived last week... I didn't finish the bowl...... That's for next week.... I did, however, enjoy the satisfaction of creating something new and knowing this will be a one of piece, complicated and difficult..... a monument to my stubborn nature.....not something of which I'm proud.......just saying.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.