Eric at the Bus Stop

One Street: Market Square, Shipley #81

Eric is a month shy of 89 years old. I usually feign surprise when these old folk tell me their age - even though I guess most quite well. I don't think any of them has declined to tell me for they seem very proud of all their years. Eric genuinely surprised me today though. I suggested that his youthful looks might be down to him not being a smoker but he said that he'd smoked all his life until 12 years ago. I think the biggest factor might simply be a positive attitude to life. Those older folk who look younger than their years usually have a youthful disposition too. Eric definitely had a twinkle in his eye. And a lovely smile. He's also another who has lived every year of his life here in Shipley. I wonder if there's something in the water?

It's been another horrible day at the office where once again nothing has flowed. I've had things that have needed sorting out urgently because I'm off to London for the weekend to visit Roam for the first time. The pressure to fix stuff has not sat well with me today. I've been trying to fight off a lot of negative energy and, like yesterday, it's been mostly a losing battle. That seemed to apply to the photography too. I found this one tree that I quite liked, and which I posted, but I don't think I really appreciated the shot properly until your comments arrived. I didn't really occur to me how unusual it is to be able to pick out and frame a solitary tree in the middle of a wood. You actually lifted this to the top of the mysterious spotlight. Thank you all so much for that. And for your help in getting me through what has been a very hard week.

OK. I better get out of here. It's going to feel very strange being in the city at the weekend as opposed to the hills. It will be fun though and I have some recommendations thanks to Mr. John. Have a great weekend everyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.