The Messy Room

By miketoons

Unintentional long walk

After breakfast, at high-tide-ish, I fancied a little walk along the creek to see if anything interesting was happening. Sometimes boats are lifted in or out of the water by a large mobile crane at high tide. There's always some ornithological interest - I'm getting more and more besotted by Little Egrets.

I walked as far as my usual mark but instead of turning back for home I carried on and wondered if I could complete a wide circular walk back across the farmland. Which I did - via this little church at Goodnestone. I'm embarrassed to admit I don't know how that is pronounced. Good-n-stun*? God-stn?

The footpath back to Faversham from the church is almost a straight line directly through agricultural land, hop fields, polytunnelland and fifty shades of mud. I had half of Kent to clean off my boots when I got home.

* Edit: I'm reliably informed that the local pronunciation is Good-n-stun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.