sislesait

By sislesait

West meets East

My sister and I went geocaching this afternoon on the campus of William & Mary, which was practically deserted for the Thanksgiving break. One of the things I love about geocaching is discovering sites and sights that I never would have found on my own and it's really amazing to discover these in the town where I've lived my whole life!

Coast redwood trees are known as the tallest tree on earth and they are only found on the Pacific coast. So imagine my surprise to find that here in Williamsburg we have two of these huge trees! I learned they were shipped to the college from California and planted as cuttings in 1953. This picture just does not do them justice. They are towering trees and just beautiful. I would love to someday walk in a forest of them.

If you go beyond the trees behind the brick wall there are three statue busts of the Tyler family and following the instructions of the geocache when you stand in a certain place and face the building and speak you get the strangest echoing sound that only you can hear. The person next to you hears you normally but what you're hearing is weird! Another thing I never would have known.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.