Whitecliff

By DaveWhitecliff

Segsbury Camp

Woke up early at mum & dad's and took Ms W to the train station, waving her off for a weekend of ladycentric jollity in London. The morning light was low bright sun, brilliantly illuminating the last of the autumn leaves and casting long dramatic shadows. But (goddammit) the camera bag was back at mum & dad's. By the time I got there, got the cameras, and drove up here to the downs above Letcombe/Wantage, a bank of cloud had blocked the sun. (And, of course, by the time I'd given up and gone back for a cup of coffee, it was bright sunshine again).

This place, a ditch-and-embankment Iron Age hill fort on the Ridgeway roughly six miles east of my horse, is one of my most special places. I love it here, and with all my heart I treasure the memories that this place brings back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.