on the clifftops

A good day. Bright and sunny but not cold. I had a mooch around town and the Farmer's Market this morning looking for Christmassy bits and stocking fillers.

Later we planted our two new apple trees which arrived yesterday, an Egremont Russel and a Lord Lambourne.

This evening I took myself down to Toe Head for a walk on the cliffs and to see what I could see. Several whale watchers were there. They told me they had seen dolphins and the humpback whale which has been about off this coast for a few days. But they had good binoculars and nothing was in close enough to shore to be seen without them.

I stayed and watched the sunset. The sea was so calm there were hardly any waves. Unusual for November.

There were massive fires west of us, on Cape Clear I think though it was hard to be sure. Huge plumes of smoke mingled with the sunset, but I preferred this shot of the calm pink skies to the east.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.