Different buildings

On the train to London this morning I asked whether a table seat was free. It was, said the guy with the can of beer, but I might not want to sit there because they’d had quite a bit to drink, him and his mates. The guy next to him waved a can of beer and agreed. I wasn’t fussed, I said, and sat down, opened my laptop to do some work then rapidly stood up again as the third member of their party claimed his seat and can of beer next to me.

I started my work but couldn’t help laughing at the banter I think was meant to shock me; I joined in; we swapped names and shook hands. I didn’t believe the one opposite me was really called Bert, even though he told me so twice and shook my hand each time. They wanted to know what I was working on.

They turned out to have a left-field perspective on my work, more useful than they could possibly have known, so I ignored the laptop and we talked. An hour later I had done no writing, the passengers in the seats around us were grinning, and the education system, immigration policy and unemployment were all sorted, the last so productively that we swapped phone numbers to collaborate (and I found I was right about Bert’s name).

Cheers, guys.


I heard the breaking news from Glasgow late last night, and as things have unfolded today it has remained shocking. My sympathies to all who are affected.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.