Retired

There comes a time when every pair of boots has to be retired from active duty.

This pair of tramping boots have taken me on countless adventures. I have no idea how many kilometers we've traveled, but I do know we got on well. No complaints from me.

They can rest now in the Roma garden. Over summer Lobelias will cascade down their leather. Winter will bring a different plant. If they make it through to next spring I think they'll grow strawberries :-)

After St Lukes I went boot shopping. I parted with the big bucks needed for good, one piece leather boots built for rugged landscapes. They felt ok in the shop, now comes wearing them around inside for several evenings to see if we're still friends. If we are then we can start some short walks. All going well that will break them in (or break me if we don't get on).

New lettuce are planted, everything has had a thorough watering, the old boots are planted, the succulents I brought home with me yesterday are now in pots and I've put the brackets Dad made on the fence and fitted my new pottery piece into them.

All a bit more action than planned but I'm sorted :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.