expatemma

By expatemma

Links

forward and back...... This picture has links to both my Husband's and my past - family ties, precious moments and something to keep to pass forward to keep the memories alive.

The image is of a working chart my Husband's Paternal Grandfather used as Captain of a merchant navy vessel working in and out of London in the 1940s - it dates from 14 February 1947. You can see his pencil annotations on it - and indeed the creases from where it was folded. It reaches back to his family....

And also, it shows the area where my forebears had a wharf in London and where my Sister now lives (almost).

I love the fact that it strengthens and maintains our ties with the mother country and both our families - and that it makes a striking focal point in our living room.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.