WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

Made it!

Yesterday was a really memorable day. I had that planet feeling right here.

The land dropped away and the feeling I experience of being up on a high point of Earth looking down into the valleys and over to the horizon where the planet curves beyond view is really hard to describe and perhaps sounds a little odd.

Poetry, I think, is another way to express feelings and I love the whole concept of the stanza stones. I'm not sure yet whether the others are tucked away but this one really is. After my epic visit of a couple of days ago, I felt the need to go back. There was more light infiltrating the woods today but it was still dark, dense and muffled. I was probably 30 metres away when I turned on my heels but I wouldn't have spent time appreciating the poetry or the view even if I'd managed to sort my head out. This time, my other half accompanied me and we had a lovely outing. The poem is perfectly fitting for the location too.

We met a couple on the way out of the woods who said there have been Roman ghosts spotted there as an old Roman road goes through it. That would have been far better than my mind's creations!

Well worth a little trip but my recommendation is not to go alone. View poem here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.