Helvellyn

Driving up to the Lakes early on a beautiful bright day - I've missed doing this :o)

We haven't done Helvellyn this year - our hill fitness levels aren't great right now so we tackled it from Thirlmere. It's an easy route up - no danger at all, and a beautiful vista of Thirlmere behind as you ascend.

I'd been a fool and eaten chilli the night before - this did nothing to help my energy levels and I really struggled to get a rhythm going. Should have had pasta...

But I enjoyed every minute. It was so cold on top. My fingers nearly stopped working, but there was no ice or snow (which I was a bit disappointed about!)

Please look at this one large if you've got time :o)

Yeah it was a great day out - more here.

We stayed at the Brantwood Hotel at Stainton. We stayed there before many years ago and were unexpectedly delighted by the food. We hoped the standard would be as good, but didn't really expect it to be. But we were delighted to find it was as good as we remembered. Slow cooked venison, apple crumble (not on the same plate), good stuff indeed :o)

Thanks for the response to yesterdays starry shot - I may have given the impression that was taken in the Lakes but I'm blipping a day behind - it was actually from my back garden!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.