sunshineband

By KC2013

To The Hills

I was awake early because we were going out to catch the dawn rising over Glencoe. The 3G was patchy on my phone at the cottage but I managed to bring Twitter up briefly, which is how I found out about the helicopter crash at the Clutha Bar. My stomach dropped as I read about what had happened.

Later, standing in my wellies in a loch on Rannoch Moor, I watched the sunrise on the Black Mount and marvelled at the light and the silence. But I couldn't stop thinking that less than 100 miles away rescue services were working in hellish conditions trying to find survivors amongst the rubble and dust of what was left of the Clutha.

I took this photograph at the end of the day, looking up at the mountains from Loch Awe. The light chasing the shadows across the hillside put me in mind of the huge Victorian Scottish landscape paintings in the National Gallery on the Mound in Edinburgh. In between, I learned about long exposures and enjoyed experimenting with a 10 stop ND filter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.