Mikey88

By Mikey88

The Last Apple

It was another dull day today, and I didn't really get anywhere to take photos so my blip for today shows the last apple on our little apple tree. I was going to blip a closer view, but as I was taking the picture, my little robin friend came to see what I was up to, so I zoomed out to include him.

The apple tree has done really well this year. We haven't bought any apples since the beginning of September, so we have saved a fair amount of money. The last few we have in a bowl in the kitchen are a bit too far gone to eat and this last one on the tree had been 'got' by the blackbirds, so that is the end of our apple season. It's definitely been the best crop we've had in twelve years we have been in the house.

Thanks all, for best wishes yesterday. The results of the mother-in-law's eye appointment were a bit vague. She didn't want me to come in with her, so I had to rely on what she told me - which was that she wasn't having any more injections, that cataracts were a problem (but removing them wouldn't help with the underlying macular degeneration) and that she had to make another appointment - but I couldn't find out what this appointment was for. Very unsatisfactory, really, and I should have gone in with her. Difficult, when she didn't want me to!
We'll have to wait and see what the confirmation letter for her next appointment says.

I'm off to London for a few days tomorrow. My friend Ian that I go cycling with managed to get hold of some tickets for the Fulham v Spurs match, so we'll go to that and probably take in a museum and a film in the time when we're not watching football. It should make a change, although London is not my favourite place - too many people.

It will make a nice change for me, but puts more work on Mrs Mikey at a busy time of the year. In addition to her marking, planning and concerts with the choir she sings with, she'll have to run our daughter round to her ballet and singing lessons. Still, I'll be back on Thursday night - assuming trains run on time and connections are made.

I'll probably catch up with blips on Friday night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.